Return

Lawyers specialized in legal hypothecs

⚠️ Disclaimer

The products presented in packages constitute a description of our products but are not an offer. They are subject to certain specific conditions. It is therefore necessary for the customer who wishes to take advantage of it to contact us directly to ensure that his file is suitable for one of the packages presented.

Why hire a legal hypothec lawyer?

We offer a service of drafting and registration of notices of legal hypothecs of the syndicate of co-ownership at a decreasing rate according to the number of notices to be drafted.

A lawyer specialized in legal hypothec verifies the formal conditions of the legal hypothec. A legal hypothec must be on the right kind of materials and work. To comply with the formal conditions, the hypothec must also add value to the building with construction, expansion or renovation work. The real estate law and the construction law are complex areas. It is therefore crucial to refer you to a lawyer to assert your hypothec rights.

01.

The benefits of hiring a legal hypothec lawyer

This type of hypothec falls under priority law. It is also called security law. This sector of the law focuses on guarantees for the payment of debts and targets buildings, but also movables, under certain conditions.

The professional lawyers of FISET LEGAL have cutting-edge knowledge of the real estate legal community. For example, a legal hypothec lawyer check if your mortgage is registered on a property. We can also help you:

  • Draft, review and improve your mortgage contracts
  • Break a contract
  • Drafting and registering a legal hypothec
  • Claim your mortgage rights
  • Provide expert legal advice
  • Do the case law research
02.

When to consult a lawyer in legal hypothec?

In Quebec, there are 4 types of legal hypothecs registered on a property. In addition, unlike the conventional mortgage, the 4 forms of legal hypothecs are governed solely by law. Hence the importance of consulting a lawyer to assert your rights, mortgage rights being real rights.

Construction and renovation sector

This form of hypothec has priority over the conventional mortgage, even if the latter is published before. The beneficiary therefore has a priority right to the hypothecary creditor on the property on which the legal hypothec is registered.

This type of mortgage thus favors any professional who has participated in a construction project or the renovation of a building. Thus, protects the sums due at the end of the work done by:

  • Architects
  • Engineers
  • Workers
  • Contractors and sub-contractors
  • Material Suppliers
State claims

A state debt protection hypothec. Any amount due according to tax laws, claims of legal persons governed by public law as long as these are provided for in specific laws.

This hypothec is registered in the appropriate land or furniture register. It sometimes covers real estate in addition to buildings. A notice must also be served on the debtor and it ranks as soon as it is entered in the appropriate register.

Co-owned Syndicate

Protection of the payment of common expenses and contributions to the provident fund. Note that the mortgagee who wishes to take possession of a fraction of co-ownership is required to pay the common charges due by this fraction.

The creditor may request a statement of charges owed by the fraction and the latter is only required to pay if he receives this information from the syndicate within 15 days of his request.

Judgment of the court of Quebec

This type of hypothec exists for the benefit of the creditor who obtains a judgment condemning a debtor to pay a certain amount. This judgment also does not need to become enforceable.

A court judgment mortgage affects a property, furniture, sometimes even both. It also ranks as soon as it is registered and served on the debtor.

Frequently asked questions about the legal hypothec lawyer

01.

How to denounce a legal hypothec?

According to article 2728 of the Civil Code of Quebec, suppliers of materials and services who have not contracted directly with the owner of the building must send a notice of denunciation to the owner of the placeBy doing business with a legal hypothec lawyer, you have the assurance that this notice of denunciation is transmitted without delay to the owner and is limited to the work carried out and the materials provided after the transmission of this notice.

02.

About Cabinet Fiset Legal

Looking for a legal mortgage lawyer? FISET LÉGAL allows you to benefit from the cutting-edge expertise of our specialized lawyers. Our firm mainly focuses its activities in the field of construction law, co-ownership and real estate law. We thus offer a service of drafting and registration of notices of legal hypothecs of the syndicate of co-ownership at a decreasing rate according to the number of notices to be drafted.

Drafting of notice of legal hypothec by a lawyer from FISET LÉGAL

The FISET LEGAL law firm is able to help you with all your real estate and construction matters. Feel free to contact a lawyer from FISET LEGAL for more information on our rates. Note that the following legal hypothecs are on a sliding scale depending on the number of notices to be written:

  • For syndicate of co-owners;
  • Legal hypothecs for construction and for persons who participated in the construction or renovation of a building;
03.

How do I know if a property has a legal hypothec?

Your lawyer checks for you, with the Land Registry, if the property in question has this type of hypothec.

04.

What are the hypothec remedies of a syndicate of co-ownership?

According to the condominium law, the syndicate may, referring to the declaration of co-ownership, claim the amount due for the current year and the next two to small claims.

However, to keep this hypothec, the syndicate must submit to one of two actions. The syndicate must publish an action against the owner in default or register a notice of exercise of a hypothecary right. These actions are mandatory within 3 years of registration of the hypothec notice.

Related Services

FISET legal is a law firm offering comprehensive expertise, at your service for 10+ years.

 Our attorneys offer their expertise in litigation and in real estate law, condominium law, construction law and all other related legal fields.

 Our attorneys aim at advising you strategically, in your best interest and in order to optimise the results on file, proportionally considering the costs and the complexity of the file. We act in complex as well as in simpler cases.

514-277-1175

Avocats spécialisés en hypothèque légale

Avertissement : les produits présentés à forfaits constituent une description de nos produits mais ne sont pas une offre. Ils font l’objet de certaines conditions spécifiques. Il est donc nécessaire pour le client qui souhaite s’en prévaloir de nous contacter directement afin de s’assurer que son dossier se prête à l’un des forfaits présentés.

Nous offrons un service de rédaction et d’inscription d’avis d’hypothèques légales du syndicat de copropriété à forfait dégressif selon le nombre d’avis à rédiger.

Pourquoi faire appel à un avocat en hypothèque légale?

Un avocat spécialisé en hypothèque vérifie les conditions de forme des hypothèques légales. Une hypothèque légale doit porter sur le bon type de matériaux et de travaux. Pour respecter les conditions de forme, l’hypothèque doit aussi ajouter une plus-value à l’immeuble avec des travaux de construction, d’agrandissement ou de rénovation. Le droit immobilier et le droit de la construction sont des domaines complexes. Il est alors crucial de vous référer à un avocat pour faire valoir vos droits d’hypothèque.

Les avantages de faire appel à un avocat en hypothèque légale

Ce type d’hypothèque relève du droit des priorités. Il porte également le nom de droit des sûretés. Ce secteur du droit se concentre sur les garanties de paiement des créances et vise les immeubles, mais aussi les meubles, sous certaines conditions.

Les avocats professionnels du cabinet FISET LÉGAL possèdent des connaissances de pointe du milieu juridique de l’immobilier. Par exemple, un avocat en hypothèque légale vérifie si votre hypothèque est inscrite sur une propriété. Nous pouvons également vous aider à:

  • Rédiger, réviser et améliorer vos contrats hypothécaires
  • Dénoncer un contrat
  • Rédiger et inscrire une hypothèque légale
  • Faire valoir vos droits hypothécaires
  • Fournir un avis juridique d’expert
  • Faire la recherche jurisprudentielle

Quand consulter un avocat hypothèque légale?

un marteau de juge accompagné de livres d'avocat en hypothèque légale

Au Québec, il existe 4 types d’hypothèques légales qui s’inscrivent sur une propriété. De plus, contrairement à l’hypothèque conventionnelle, les 4 formes des hypothèques légales relèvent uniquement de la loi. D’où l’importance de consulter un juriste pour faire valoir ses droits, le droit hypothécaire étant un droit réel.

Domaine de la construction et de la rénovation

Cette forme d’hypothèque a priorité sur l’hypothèque conventionnelle, même dans le cas où celle-ci est publiée avant. Le bénéficiaire possède donc un droit prioritaire au créancier hypothécaire sur la propriété sur laquelle l’hypothèque légale est inscrite.

Ce type d’hypothèque favorise ainsi tout professionnel qui a participé à un projet de construction ou la rénovation d’un immeuble. Elle protège ainsi les sommes dues à la fin des travaux effectués par des:

  • Architectes
  • Ingénieurs
  • Ouvriers
  • Entrepreneurs et sous-entrepreneurs
  • Fournisseurs de matériaux

Les créances de l’État

Une hypothèque de protection des créances de l’État. Toute somme due en fonction des lois fiscales, des créances de personnes morales de droit public tant que celles-ci sont prévues dans des lois particulières.

Cette hypothèque s’inscrit au registre foncier ou mobilier approprié. Elle couvre parfois les biens immobiliers en plus des immeubles. Un avis doit aussi être signifié au débiteur et elle prend rang dès son inscription au registre approprié.

Syndicat de copropriété

La protection du paiement des charges communes et des contributions au fonds de prévoyance. À noter que le créancier hypothécaire qui souhaite prendre possession d’une fraction de copropriété est tenu de payer les charges communes dues par cette fraction.

Le créancier peut demander un état des charges dues par la fraction et celui-ci n’est tenu au paiement que si celui-ci reçoit cette information du syndicat dans les 15 jours suivant sa demande.

Jugement de la cour du Québec

Ce type d’hypothèque existe au bénéfice du créancier qui obtient un jugement condamnant un débiteur à payer un certain montant. Ce jugement n’a aussi aucun besoin de devenir exécutoire.

Une hypothèque de jugement de la cour affecte un bien immobilier, des meubles, parfois même les deux. Elle prend aussi rang dès le moment où celle-ci est inscrite et signifiée au débiteur.

Questions fréquentes sur l’avocat en hypothèque légale

Comment dénoncer une hypothèque légale?

Selon l’article 2728 du Code civil du Québec, les fournisseurs de matériaux et services qui n’ont pas contracté directement avec le propriétaire de l’immeuble doivent transmettre un avis de dénonciation au propriétaire des lieuxEn faisant affaire avec un avocat hypothèque légale, vous avez l’assurance que cet avis de dénonciation se transmet sans délai au propriétaire et se limite aux travaux effectués et aux matériaux fournis après la transmission de cet avis.

Comment savoir si une propriété possède une hypothèque légale?

Votre avocat vérifie pour vous, auprès du Registre foncier, si la propriété en question possède ce type d’hypothèque.

Quels sont les recours hypothécaires d’un syndicat de copropriété?

D’après le droit de la copropriété, le syndicat peut, en évoquant la déclaration de copropriété, réclamer le montant exigible pour l’année en cours et les deux suivantes aux petites créances.

Cependant, pour conserver cette hypothèque, le syndicat doit se soumettre à l’une de deux actions. Le syndicat doit publier une action contre le propriétaire en défaut ou inscrire un préavis d’exercice d’un droit hypothécaire. Ces actions se font obligatoirement dans les 3 ans suivant l’inscription de l’avis d’hypothèque.

A propos de Cabinet Fiset Légal

À la recherche d’un avocat hypothèque légale? Le cabinet FISET LÉGAL vous permet de bénéficier de l’expertise de pointe de nos avocats spécialisés. Notre cabinet concentre principalement ses activités dans le domaine du droit de la construction, de la copropriété et du droit immobilier. Nous offrons ainsi un service de rédaction et d’inscription d’avis d’hypothèques légales du syndicat de copropriété à forfait dégressif selon le nombre d’avis à rédiger.

Rédaction d’avis d’hypothèque légale par un avocat du cabinet FISET LÉGAL

Le cabinet d’avocats FISET LÉGAL est en mesure de vous aider avec tous vos dossiers du domaine de l’immobilier et de la construction. N’hésitez pas à contacter un avocat du cabinet FISET LÉGAL pour obtenir plus d’information sur nos tarifs. A savoir que les hypothèques légales suivantes sont à forfait dégressif selon le nombre d’avis à rédiger:

  • Pour syndicat des copropriétaires;
  • Hypothèques légales de la construction et des personnes ayant participé à la construction ou à la rénovation d’un immeuble;

Mention importante sur les produits présentés

Les produits présentés à forfaits constituent une description de nos produits, mais ne sont pas une offre. Ils font l’objet de certaines conditions spécifiques. Il est donc nécessaire pour le client qui souhaite s’en prévaloir de nous contacter directement afin de s’assurer que son dossier se prête à l’un des forfaits présentés.

SERVICES RELIÉS

Choisir les services reliés à cette expertise.